Home / News / Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame announces 2023 inductees

Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame announces 2023 inductees

On Wednesday, April 5, four athletes and three builders were inducted into the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame.

Sask Sport congratulates the 2023 induction class, including:


  • Jaime (Cruickshank) Boyer (Saskatoon) – Multi-sport
    • Jaime competed internationally in both power tumbling and trampoline as well as athletics as a young athlete before competing at the 2006 Turin Winter Olympics in bobsleigh.
  • Ryan Getzlaf (Regina) – Hockey
    • Ryan won a pair of Olympic gold medals in men’s hockey (2010 & 2014) as part of eight international competition he took part in. Getzlaf also won the Stanley Cup in 2007 as part of a 17-year National Hockey League career with the Anaheim Ducks.
  • Joan McEachern (Leroy) – Soccer
    • Joan was part of the Canadian squad that made their debut at the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 1995. She won the Canada Soccer National Club Championship four times during the pre-professional era of women’s soccer.
  • Hayley Wickenheiser OC (Shaunavon) – Hockey
    • Hayley is one of the most decorated Canadian athletes of all time. She has won four Olympic gold medals and a silver medal in women’s hockey and also represented Canada in softball in the Summer Olympics. Wickenheiser is Canada’s all-time leader in goals, assists, points and games played. She is also the all-time points leader in the Olympics and the IIHF world championships which she has also won seven times.


  • Lorne Lasuita (Wynyard) – Multi-sport
    • Lorne has been involved in 52 multi-sport events, including the 2004 Summer Olympics. He has represented Team Sask at 18 Canada Games and has been involved in all but one of the 25 Saskatchewan Games to date.
  • Bernadette McIntyre (Bethune) – Curling
    • Bernadette was the bid committee chairperson for the Olympic Curling Trials, the men’s world curling championship, three Briers, and two Scotties in Regina. She also was the co-chair of the 2018 LPGA CP Women’s Open and was part of the Grey Cup festival leadership team in 2013 and 2022.
  • Noreen Murphy (Saskatoon) – Softball
    • Noreen was on the staff for Canada’s national softball for 14 years including the 1996 Atlanta Olympic Games. She was also the head coach of the national junior team. She won eight provincial titles in eight years as a coach in Saskatoon as part of her storied coaching career.
    • Noreen also worked at Sask Sport from 1988 to 1998 in both the Lottery Division and Sport Division. In 1998, she took an educational leave of absence to attend the University of Michigan to obtain a Masters degree in Sport Management & Communications. From 2002 – 2010, she worked as a Recreation and Tourism Management instructor at SIAST. In 2010, Noreen rejoined Sask Sport as the Provincial Sport Coordinator and Sport Consultant. In total, Noreen has spent almost 22 years with Sask Sport before retiring in 2019.

Watch the induction announcement below.