Home / News / Cheer on Sask for the Beijing Olympic Games

Cheer on Sask for the Beijing Olympic Games

For the second time in less than seven months, sport fans are getting ready to cheer on Saskatchewan individuals as they represent the province and Canada at the Olympic Games, running February 4-20 in Beijing. 

The Saskatchewan Olympic contingent for the Beijing Games features 15 individuals, including six athletes, three coaches, four mission and support staff and two officials, many of whom are making repeat appearances. 

Bobsleigh brakeman Ben Coakwell, speed skater Marsha Hudey and snowboarder Mark McMorris will each be attending their third consecutive Olympics, while women’s hockey player Emily Clark will be competing in her second Games.  Men’s hockey player Adam Cracknell and speed skater Graeme Fish will make their Olympic debut. 

“Best of luck to all of our Saskatchewan athletes, coaches, and officials travelling to the 2022 Olympic Winter Games in Beijing to represent Canada,” Parks, Culture and Sport Minister Laura Ross said. “Despite the challenging times we find ourselves in, your hard work, dedication and perseverance has given you the opportunity to showcase your abilities on the world’s biggest stage. The Government of Saskatchewan and the people of Saskatchewan will be cheering you on and wishing you all the best.” 

Multi-Olympic medallist Catriona Le May Doan is making her 11th trip to the Games, this time as the Chef de Mission for all of Team Canada. She’s previously attended as an athlete, a member of the media and Mission Staff.  

On the coaching front, Todd McClements will accompany the Canadian long track speed skating team after previously attending the 2014 Games in Sochi with the team, while Adam Burwell will work with the Canadian snowboard team for the second Games in a row. Lyndon Rush will join the Canadian bobsleigh team for the second straight Games after competing in two as an athlete. 

Physiotherapist Mark Jesney will also work with the long track speed skating team, Chris Dornan will be the media attaché for bobsleigh and skeleton and Lisa Hoffart will be working as member of the Canadian Mission Staff with the outfitting team.  

Finally, linesperson Alexandra Blair and referee Cianna Lieffers will officiate the women’s hockey games. 

“Each member of this Olympic contingent is an incredible ambassador for sport in Saskatchewan,” said Lance Dudar, Sask Sport Chair. “On behalf of our province’s amateur sport community, I would like to congratulate each of these athletes, coaches, mission and support staff, as well as the officials on their determination and resoluteness to reach the Games. I’d also like to thank all of those individuals who supported them along the way.  Please follow along with Sask Sport, Sask Lotteries and the Canadian Sport Centre Saskatchewan during the Games to show each of them that you are Sask Proud.” 

Click on cheeronsask.ca for everything you need to know about the Olympics and Paralympics.  The website, a partnership between Sask Sport, Sask Lotteries and the Canadian Sport Centre Saskatchewan, documents the athletes, coaches, officials and staff from Saskatchewan on their journey to the Olympic and Paralympic Games, features a comprehensive schedule specific to the Saskatchewan athletes that includes date, times, viewing options and results and will house daily recaps with results and information specific to the Saskatchewan contingent. It will also feature an aggregate of news from the Canadian Olympic Committee, Canadian Paralympic Committee and National Sport Organizations.   

Follow along on social media on @SaskSport, @SaskLotteries and @CSCSaskatchewan and use the hashtag #SaskProud for further updates and information from cheeronsask.ca.   

Olympic Notes: Jay Dearborn, a defensive back with the Saskatchewan Roughriders, will be competing in the men’s bobsleigh competition, while Jordan Weal, a former player with the WHL’s Regina Pats, will represent Canada on the men’s hockey team. 

Beijing Olympic Winter Games – Saskatchewan Contingent 


Emily Clark – Women’s Hockey, Forward, Saskatoon

Ben Coakwell – 4-person Bobsleigh, Moose Jaw

Adam Cracknell – Men’s Hockey, Forward, Prince Albert

Marsha Hudey – Long Track Speed Skating, 500-metre, White City

Graeme Fish – Long Track Speed Skating, 10,000-metre, Moose Jaw

Mark McMorris – Snowboard, Big Air and Slopestyle, Regina


Adam Burwell – Snowboard, Big Air and Slopestyle, Regina  

Todd McClements – Long Track Speed Skating, Saskatoon 

Lyndon Rush – Bobsleigh, Humboldt 


Chris Dornan – Media Attaché, Bobsleigh and Skeleton, Saskatoon

Lisa Hoffart – Mission Staff, Outfitting Team, Regina

Mark Jesney – Physiotherapist, Long Track Speed Skating, Saskatoon

Catriona Le May Doan- Chef de Mission, Team Canada, Saskatoon 


Alexandra Blair – Women’s Hockey, Weyburn 

Cianna Lieffers – Women’s Hockey, Saskatoon