Home / News / Sask Sport announces Athlete of the Year recipients

Sask Sport announces Athlete of the Year recipients

Sask Sport’s 2018 Saskatchewan Sport Awards

Rising local stars, international standouts and high-performance competitors are among the recipients of Sask Sport’s 2018 Athlete of the Year Awards.

They include Kurt Oatway, a Paralympic gold medallist from Regina, and Shelby Newkirk, a para swimming world record holder from Saskatoon. 

The recipients were honoured at the Saskatchewan Sport Awards in Saskatoon alongside eight other members of the province’s amateur sport community. Recipients for Coach Dedication, Coach of the Year, Official and Volunteer Awards were previously announced in March.

“Every year, the Saskatchewan Sport Awards celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of coaches, officials, volunteers and athletes and we are incredibly proud of our honorees, including the Athlete of the Year recipients and finalists who have represented Saskatchewan with distinction both at home and abroad,” said Leslie Blyth, Chair of Sask Sport’s Board of Directors.

“Their accomplishments go beyond gold medals and first-place finishes. Through hard work and dedication, each serves as inspiration for all future athletes who want to set goals, commit themselves to sport and pursue their dreams.”

And the recipients are …

This year’s award recipients join a long list of Athlete of the Year Award honorees:

Youth-Female Athlete of the Year
Savannah Sutherland
Borden, Athletics

Youth-Male Athlete of the Year
Daniel McCullough
Saskatoon, Kayaking

Female Athlete of the Year
Shelby Newkirk
Saskatoon, Para Swimming

Male Athlete of the Year
Kurt Oatway
Regina, Para Alpine Skiing

Team of the Year
Team Sask Under-19 Women
Regina, Water Polo

Master Athlete of the Year
Ted Rowan
Martensville, Athletics