Home / News / 2018 Athlete of the Year Award finalists announced

2018 Athlete of the Year Award finalists announced

2018 Saskatchewan Sport Awards Finalists

Nominees include four Olympians and Paralympians from across the province

Seventeen athletes and teams from across Saskatchewan have been announced as finalists for the 2018 Athlete of the Year Awards.

Each year, up to three finalists are selected in six Athlete of the Year Award categories based on their accomplishments from the preceding year. In the coming weeks, active and affiliate members of Sask Sport will conduct a vote to select the recipients, who will be honored at the Saskatchewan Sport Awards ceremony in Saskatoon in March. At the ceremony, awards will also be delivered to deserving coaches, officials and volunteers supporting amateur sport in the province.

“Congratulations to this year’s Athlete of the Year Award finalists whose hard work and determination make us all #SaskProud,” said Leslie Blyth, Chair of the Board of Directors for Sask Sport, a volunteer-led non-profit organization and the federation for amateur sport in Saskatchewan.

“Whether competing at home or abroad, these athletes are inspiring and their accomplishments put a spotlight on the vast network of community organizations, athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers and families that enrich our province with the benefits of sport. Sask Sport is proud to champion this vibrant community each and every day.”

A list of the Athlete of the Year Award finalists is available below.

Athlete of the Year Finalists

2018 Youth-Female Athlete of the Year
Cassie Prentice, 17, Macrorie, Racquetball
Danielle Skinner, 16, Regina, Baton Twirling
Savannah Sutherland, 15, Borden, Track and Field

2018 Youth-Male Athlete of the Year
Daniel McCullough, 15, Saskatoon, Kayaking
Michael McGillivray, 15, Regina, Swimming
Rylan Wiens, 16, Pike Lake, Diving

2018 Female Athlete of the Year
Brittany Hudak, 25, Prince Albert, Para Nordic Skiing
Shelby Newkirk, 22, Saskatoon, Para Swimming
Marie Wright, 58, Moose Jaw, Wheelchair Curling

2018 Male Athlete of the Year
Mark McMorris, 24, Regina, Snowboarding
Kurt Oatway, 34, Regina, Para Alpine Skiing
David Samayoa, 26, Regina, Weightlifting

2018 Team of the Year
Saskatoon Hilltops, Saskatoon, Football
Sundown Optimist Buffalo Gals, Regina, Baton Twirling
Team Sask Under-19 Women, Regina, Water Polo

2018 Master Athlete of the Year
Ted Rowan, 85, Martensville, Track and Field
Women’s Masters Relay Team 320-359, Regina, Swimming

The Saskatchewan Sport Awards is an annual awards program of Sask Sport designed to recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of Saskatchewan amateur athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers. Sask Sport would like to thank Global TV, its production and promotion partner for the Saskatchewan Sport Awards, and to acknowledge Sask Lotteries, the main fundraiser for amateur sport in the province.